Channel and video visibility settings

Channel and video visibility settings

There are several visibility options for both individual videos and channels. 
  1. Unlisted  - Anyone with the link can view the video, including people who access an embedded link via your website, a link on social media sites, and so forth. However, the video will not be discoverable by search engines.
  2. Password Protected - Only those with the link and correct password (set by you) can view the video.
  3. Team User - Only other logged-in members of your Team Plan can view the video. This option is great for internal-only communications!
  4. Public - The video can be discovered by search engines.

For videos, you can access visibility options by logging into your account, hovering over a video in the Content area, and clicking Details.

At the top of the page, click the Publish menu to select visibility and publishing options and to publish or unpublish your video.



You can set a video's visibility when you upload to ScreenPal from any of our apps.  When uploading directly to your ScreenPal hosting account, your video's visibility is automatically set to Unlisted.  After uploading a video, you can easily change the Visibility setting before publishing.

Visibility options are also available for each channel you create from the New Channel and Edit Channel pages.

Open New Channel by clicking Channels from the menu on the left side of the page within your account and then clicking New Channel in the top right corner of the page.
Open Edit Channel by hovering over an existing channel, clicking the Details button, and then clicking the Edit () icon at the top of the page.



For more information about how to add or edit a channel, see this article.


Team Plan Visibility settings

When you are a member of a team plan, your Team Admin may choose to limit the visibility of all videos posted by team members. 

As a Team Owner or Team Administrator, you can go to Settings and select Content Hosting from the menu on the left to configure the Require login to view content control for your team.

 



When you select No, content owner can choose visibility, members of your team can choose the visibility setting for content they upload.
When you select Yes, require content only visible to Team Users, the content uploaded by members of your team is automatically set to Team User visibility.  In other words, all content uploaded to your team's account by team members will only be viewable by other members of your team.  Additionally, all channels created by your team members will default to the Team User visibility setting.

When you select the Yes, require content only visible to Team Users option, you can also enable certain members of your team to override the Team User visibility setting for their videos and channels by adding them to a group with override ability.  You may want to do this, for example, if you have a group within your Team that consistently posts public videos, such as Marketing or Customer Education.

For more information about how to allow groups to override visibility settings, please see our article titled Setting up hosting.


Channel Visibility 

As mentioned above, you can also set a visibility setting for a channel. Visibility settings for videos uploaded to a channel will differ, depending on how you add a video to a channel.

Channel Recorder button

Adding a Channel Recorder button to your channel enables your audience to launch the recorder and submit content to your channel. You can read more about enabling this feature in the Use a Channel Recorder button article.

When audience members use the Channel Recorder button to upload content to your channel, they will be presented with a simple Upload control with no option to change the visibility settings.



Any video a viewer uploads to your channel will take on the visibility setting you have configured for the channel.

Uploading videos to a channel from video editor or Share Video tab

You can upload a video to a channel in one of two ways:

1. From the video editor by clicking Upload to ScreenPal and selecting a Channel under the publish options.



2. By logging into your ScreenPal account, hovering over a video on the Content tab, selecting the checkbox in the top left corner of the video thumbnail,  and clicking the Add all to channel icon that is displayed at the bottom of the screen.



This opens the Channels page, enabling you to select an existing channel to which you want to add the selected video.



When you upload a video to a channel, the video retains its own visibility settings, rather than taking on the visibility setting of the channel. For example, you can upload a Public video to a Password Protected channel. To view the video from the channel, viewers must first enter a password to access the channel. When viewers access the video from a direct link, however, they will be able to view it without entering a password.

    • Related Articles

    • Add or edit a channel

      Add a new channel To add a new channel to your account, follow the steps below. 1. Within your ScreenPal hosting account, from the left navigation bar, click the plus icon to the right of Channels. This opens the New Channel dialog: 2. For Title, ...
    • Team Admin: Feature Access Settings

      Team Creators versus Team Users When you have a Team Plan, ScreenPal Team Creator licenses are consumed when one of the following occurs: A user logs into a ScreenPal hosting account that is associated with your Team Plan during the plan month and ...
    • Use a Channel Recorder button

      What is a Channel Recorder button? Adding a Channel Recorder button enables your audience to launch the recorder and submit their content to your channel. The recorder button launches a version of the screen recorder, that contains a simplified ...
    • Edit captions settings (viewers)

      When you view one of our videos from a channel, a direct link, or an embedded link on the content owner's website, you can easily change the look and feel of the captions, if that video has captions enabled. To change the caption settings, follow the ...
    • Edit a video project across a team

      You can use the Video Editor to edit your co-worker's video projects, also known as .screenpal (or .somrec) files. To share your video files for editing with your team, you will need to export them from your Project Manager. Click Manage Video ...