Add a new channel
To add a new channel, from your ScreenPal Hosting account, click Channels from the navigation bar on the left.
This opens the Channels page. Click the New Channel button in the top right corner.
This opens the New Channel dialog.
Add the following information for your channel:
- Title: Use to add a title for the channel. This field is required.
- Description: Enter a brief description of the content within the channel.
- Custom Logo/ Image for Channel: Click Upload to select an image or logo that will be displayed at the top of the channel page.
- Visibility: Select the visibility setting for the channel. You can click each visibility setting to view information about who will be able see your channel when that option is selected. Please note that if you are a member of a Team Plan and your Team Administrator has chosen to set your team's default content visibility to Team User, you will not be able to change your channel's visibility.
- Channel Layout: Select Channel Carousel or Channel Sidebar. You can have up to 50 pieces of content in a carousel. If your channel contains more than 50 pieces of content, you must select Channel Sidebar.
- Show on the front page of your site: This option can be used when you have a subdomain or a CNAME configured in the Custom Domain settings. Toggling Show on the front page of your site to ON, will show the current channel in the Home Page drop-down list on the Branding page in Settings, enabling you to display the channel on your ScreenPal content home page.
- Allow Users to Launch Recorder in Channel: If you are a member of a Team Plan, you can enable your members of your audience to record and upload videos from within the channel by turning the Allow Users to Launch Recorder in Channel option to ON. For more information about the channel recorder, please see our Setting Up the Channel Recorder video tutorial.
Edit a channel
You can change the settings for an existing channel by hovering over it in the Channels area and clicking Manage.
This opens the channel management page:
For more information about how to edit and manage your channels, and add content to them, please see the
Channels tutorial.
When you upload an item to a channel, it retains its own visibility settings, rather than taking on the visibility setting of the channel. For example, you can upload a Public video to a Password Protected channel. To view the video from the channel, viewers will first have to enter a password to access the channel. When viewers access the video from a direct link, however, they will be able to view it without entering a password.