'Sorry that recording is corrupted. Do you want to delete it?' error

Resolve the error stating "Sorry that recording is corrupted. Do you want to delete it?"

Corrupted recordings occur when the original recording files are affected in an unexpected way.

If you receive a pop-up message which states "Sorry that recording is corrupted. Do you want to delete it?", it may be due to a cloud-sync application like OneDrive, Google Drive, or Dropbox.  These applications can lock files while they are being uploaded/synced to the cloud, which blocks ScreenPal's ability to write to the files.  If this occurs while recording or performing edits, the video project may experience corruption.

To avoid this issue, change your main storage location to a folder that the cloud-sync app does not have setup for cloud syncing.  For example, our default storage location is:
C:\Users\[Your-Username]\Documents

The main storage location may be changed in the Video Editor's Project Manager:

After confirming the issue is resolved with a brand new recording, please move the old recordings to the new location to avoid further corruption.

For steps to change the main storage location and move the recordings, please click here.


    • Related Articles

    • Resolve the "401 Unauthorized" error when using ScreenPal with the Moodle LMS

      If you are using the ScreenPal LTI v1.3 application with a self-hosted instance of Moodle, you may encounter a "401 Unauthorized" error message when ScreenPal tries to synchronize data with your Moodle Gradebook. This can occur when a student ...
    • Send us an error report to get help

      If you experience issues while using any of our apps, you can submit an error report by following these steps: Windows or Mac Desktop Apps Open the app from your Start menu or by logging in and clicking the on the upper right of the page. In the ...
    • Error while encoding (Windows)

      If you receive a pop-up message stating "Error while encoding" after you click Upload or Save as Video File, this may be due to your anti-virus or firewall software (e.g. Comodo, Zone Alarm, etc.). To fix this issue, set the anti-virus/firewall ...
    • Resolve the message stating that your Team Plan is expiring and your content is frozen and scheduled for deletion

      If you have a Team Education plan that self-identifies as K-12, and your plan is almost due for renewal, members of your team may see the following message when they log into their ScreenPal Hosting account: If your Team Plan has already expired, ...
    • Delete, edit, save, or share a recording

      After you create a recording using our Screen Recorder, you have several options for what to do next. Delete To delete the recording you just created, click the Trash icon. This displays two options: Delete & Cancel Recording - Deletes the recording ...