Creating Groups for ScreenPal team plans

Creating Groups for your team

If you are a Team Owner or Team Administrator of a Team Plan, you can create collections of users called Groups.  Your Team Members can then share content to these groups without having to select individual Team Members. You can also enable a group to override the team visibility setting configured in your team's Hosting: Content settings.

Create a new group

1. Log into your account and click My Content at the top of the page.
2. In the toolbar at the top of the page, click Users.



3. In the menu on the left side of the page, click ( ) next to Groups.




4. This opens the New Group dialog. Enter a name for the group and, if applicable, select the Parent Group to which you'd like to add it.



5. If you have the Yes, require content only visible to Team Users option selected under Content: Hosting in your Content Hosting settings, all content uploaded by members of your team is automatically set to Team User visibility and the Allow group members to choose visibility option is displayed on the New Group box. To enable members of this group to select their own visibility setting for the content they upload, select the checkbox for Allow group members to choose visibility for their content.  More information about this option can be found in the article titled Setting up hosting.

5. Click Save.

Add a subgroup

You can add subgroups to a parent group. At this time, items shared to a parent group will not be automatically shared to the sub-groups within it.

1. First, select the parent group.
2. In the top right corner of the page, click . This opens the New Sub Group dialog.



3. For Group Name, enter a unique name for the sub-group.
4. If you have the Yes, require content only visible to Team Users option selected under Content: Hosting in your Content Hosting settings, all content uploaded by members of your team is automatically set to Team User visibility and the Allow group members to choose visibility option is displayed on the New Sub Group box. To enable members of this sub-group to select their own visibility setting for content they upload, select the checkbox for Allow group members to choose visibility for their content.  More information about this option can be found in the article titled Setting up hosting.

5. Click Save.

The sub-group is displayed under the parent group in the order in which it was created.


Add and remove users from a group

1. To edit the members of a group, select the group from the left side of the page.
2. To add a user to the selected group, click  in the upper right corner of the page. This opens the Users For dialog. 
3. Select the checkboxes next to the names of the users within your team that you want to add to the group. You can also search for users using the Search Users field.
4. Clear the checkboxes next to the names of the users you want to remove from the group.
5. Click Save.

Edit or delete a group

You can delete a group at any time by selecting it and clicking .
Warning: Deleting a group also deletes all of the sub-groups under it.
To edit the name of a group, click  to open the Edit Group dialog. Enter a new name for the group and then click Save.

Share a video to a group

1. Log into your team account.
2. Click My Content at the top of the page.
3. Click Videos on the left navigation menu, hover over the video you'd like to share, and click the Details button.
4. Click the Users button:



This opens the Users box:



5. Under Add groups or people, search for and select the group with whom to share the video.
6. Click Save.Result: The selected video is shared with the group you chose.

    • Related Articles

    • Groups: Usage and sharing

      If you are part of a Team plan, your Team Admin can create collections of users called Groups. You can then share content to groups and to collaborate on content projects across your team. Share Content to a group 1. Log into your team account and ...
    • Team Admin: Add users to your Team Plan

      Definitions Team Creator: A user who has consumed a creator license by launching a creator tool (i.e. Screen Recorder, Video Editor, Screenshot, or Image Editor). Licenses are not tied to a specific computer or user. Instead, a license is consumed ...
    • Setting up hosting

      Setting up and customizing hosting Free and Deluxe Users If you are a Free or Solo Deluxe user, you have access to our free hosting services that enable storing, customization and sharing your image and video content. You can configure several ...
    • Access ScreenPal as the member of a Team Plan

      As a member of a Team Plan, there are several ways you can access our tools. Sign Up Link If your Team Administrator sends you a sign-up link, click it to sign into your existing ScreenPal account, or create a new account, and request access to your ...
    • Join my Team Plan

      If your organization purchased a Team Plan that requires you have an account with us (for example, you need an account to host videos and images on our site), you need to join the Team Plan to access advanced features. There are a few ways you can ...