You may notice that the ScreenPal desktop app initiates a new download every time you open it from screenpal.com. This is because ScreenPal makes a note in your local storage that you have downloaded the application before. When ScreenPal sees this note, the app skips the download process and simply launches.
However, if you clear your browsing data, including cookies, the local storage in your browser is removed for screenpal.com. This clears the flag that tells our app that you have downloaded it in the past. When the flag is no longer present, the ScreenPal app downloads when you open it from screenpal.com.
To fix this issue, do not clear browsing data for screenpal.com, or anytime after you download our app.
If you are not manually clearing your browsing data for screenpal.com and you are still being prompted to download the installer each time you launch one of the tools from our website, check to see if your browser settings are configured not to retain local storage. You should also verify that you do not have a browser extension installed that is clearing this data on a regular basis.
Note: Your organization may be clearing your local storage nightly. In this case, in order to avoid a new download, launch the ScreenPal app directly from your computer by clicking the ScreenPal icon on your desktop or in your toolbar.
Finally, if you are a member of a Team Plan, your Team Owner or Administrator can configure ScreenPal access via an Access Page and select the checkbox for Support install outside the browser on Windows and Mac devices.
This will streamline the experience for team members when they open the ScreenPal app on their computer.